Contact Your Admissions Counselor

Send Maria a message


 

Get to know Maria

Where are you from?

I claim Denver, CO, but I lived in a handful of places, thanks to the military!

Which Admissions office programs are you involved in?

Community-Based Organizations and Low & Middle Income Partnerships Coordinator, Vandy Fan for a Day, Practicum Student Advising, Data Analysis Team, & many others!

What’s your favorite spot on campus?

The Commons Center always seems to have a variety of events - even during the summer - and it has some of the best food on campus.

What hobby do you wish you had more time for?

Definitely reading! There are so many classic works, and so many new works, but there is so little time...

What did you study in college?

Anthropology & Sociology

If you could go to college again, what major would you choose?

I think I would choose an interdisciplinary major that would combine anthropology, sociology, Chicano studies, history, and English.

What is the hardest class you have ever taken?

Neuroscience 101 as a first-semester freshman

What’s your favorite off-campus hangout?

Fido offers a great spot for whatever your pleasure may be - catching up with friends, studying for an exam, or exclusive "me-time."

What’s the best concert you’ve seen in Nashville?

The best concert I've seen was an Imagine Dragons concert. Although we're best known for country music, it's great to see so many dynamic artists visit Nashville.

What is your favorite place to eat in Nashville?

I enjoy so many places to eat - particularly Nashville Original Restaurants - but Suzy Wong's House of Yum is always a favorite spot to gather with friends.

Do you have pets?

I am equally a cat-person and a dog-person, although I currently only have a dog, Chewbacca.

If you weren't an admissions counselor, what would you be?

I think I would be an anthropologist or museum curator if I didn't enjoy admissions so much.

 


« Go back to admissions counselor listing

Maria Ornelas

Phone: 615-322-0071

AREAS

  • Texas (Greater Houston)

Get to know Maria »